Sea Salt Sundae

a summer journal of sketches & scattered thoughts

Show-and-tell


sanrio diary

My diary from childhood-- it's pretty funny looking through them. I think Maya and Anna from Pen15 would have liked me as friend.

gyaru beach bikini

Past Summer Memoirs & Thoughts


pumpkin pizza korean fried chicken

Pre-pandemic food hangout with friends in K-Town. We went to a fried chicken place that serves pumpkin toppings on pizza. It was bizarre, but it was good.

fire works

For many reasons I'm not going to get into, it's not the kind of holiday I feel passionate about. All it is, it's just a day of BBQ, vacation, friends & family gatherings. It would be a complete lie to say that I didn't have any fond memories of my July hangouts in the past before 2020. Objectively, fireworks aren't great for the environment-- they're even banned in most cities (understandable). If I have to be honest, I actually enjoyed the sight of them when I was at a friends' party in K-Town. We were able to hang out on their rooftops and watch the sky from different places. It was fun seeing them a couple of times up close like that, but at the same time, I'm fine living without them.

the promenade

I love the sight of rainbow, especially rainbow lights in June.

Gilroy

This garlic boy mascot for Gilroy makes me think of funny things. Something about this mascot design looks like it was trapped in the late 80s. Gilroy is an interesting city.

lizard

Lizards are so smol. You got to watch out for them when walking on sidewalks!

soft serve

One of those food truck nights, this was taken in 2019. Unfortunately, I got to tone down my cravings for ice cream a bit. I just love the way soft serves looks, I love the swirls.

santa monica pier

This was one of the times we hung out with Panda & Croc. I really enjoy going to the Pier with our friends. I know it's pretty touristy place, but we've managed to get a lot of our pokemon catches there!

black bear diner black bear diner

This diner chain is so novel! At least the one I had in Gilroy (haven't tried any other places), this place is pretty decent. Probably one of the few novelty places with actual good food. The bear them amuses me.

Warning: I do my best to reflect on things that makes me happy, but at times, I have my days when things aren't too well. I don't like to be dishonest with myself, so not everything will be butterflies and rainbows on this blog. Also, I'm a bit of basic witch-- my blog is also non-serious as well.

bear float div

7.13.2024
Listening to 1994 N O S T A L G I A

Since it has been very warm, and a lot warmer in other places, my sister Conis decided to head over to my place to hang out with me. We ended up getting dinner at an outdoor restaurant (I do not dine indoors atm)-- it's pretty decent. We ordered a shrimp roll, a set of crunchy lobster roll (delicious btw), & sashimi. I got myself an udon bowl with tofu. My sister insisted on picking up the tab-- she pretty much initiated the dine out. sushi rolls



udon bowl
 
I have to keep my food orders pretty basic, for what it is, the broth for my noodles were quite delicious. I love that we get a fresh fruit as a way to end our meals. The atmosphere is quite nice and casual too-- we basically lightly bopped our heads to K-Pop music playlist that they had in the background.

Since my sister picked up the tab, I decided to bake her a set of cinnamon rolls from scratch after getting back home to my place, I had the dough prepped prior to our outing.  We pretty much just caught up with stuff & spilled family tea.

7.5.2024
Listening to Pure Moods

Happy Friday! Happy belated birthday to Nami from One Piece. I'm currently doing a drawing of her atm, I'll post it up once I am done with her. Bern and I haven't done anything super eventful. It's 93 degrees Fahrenheit right now , the past few days were a lot nicer..especially at night! 

peach pie peach pie slice

I did end up baking peach (with some nectarine filling) pie this week. The peaches and nectarines that we got from the farmers market were perfect, just moderately ripened for the filling.

Vegeta drink

I also made turkey burgers for dinner- I believe they're one of the best turkey patties I ever made. This time, I used some chicken bullion that I bought from Ranch 99 and I added caramelized shallots instead of onions. Using Kewpie mayonnaise to add to a thousand island sauce hits differently. I was afraid they'd would be too rich, but I'm thinking next time, I should try brioche buns next time. I also ended up having Oceanbomb Vanilla flavor soda. Doesn't really taste all that much like vanilla-- maybe I'm so used to tasting vanilla cream sodas. But I like the the Vegeta design .


hajime no ippo pic

Since Bern didn't have much work that day (federal holiday), we binged to Hajime no Ippo. A long distance friend of ours recommended us to watch it. I feel like this is the kind of anime my dad would have liked watching if we had access to it. It's a series about a high school kid from a blue collar family who trains to become a professional boxer. The writer of manga portrayed the protagonist to be this very innocent, sweet and hard-working boy-- him being meek and mild could be a flaw for him at times. Nevertheless, he's a very likeable character. Despite him being a this super polite person, he's a fast learner and clearly has potential to become a skillful fighter. All the supporting characters (like his boxing trainers and gym friends) felt very fatherly and maybe brotherly towards him, it's actually quite adorable to see how they're all putting great effort to make sure he becomes a pro boxer. I'm also enjoying the slice-life-style type of animation...it's not always glamorous or pretty, but it's relatable. The music is quite bop...a lot of post-punk sounds. I was telling Bern that the intro reminds me of New Order and certain songs by INXS.

Anyway, if you're here, thanks for reading my blog! I know it's not all that insightful, haha.

gyaru love



7.1.2024
Listening to Florida Vacation 1 9 9 4 (vaporwave mix)

Good evening! I took a break from doing some art-related activities because I had to steer my focus of not straying away from being physically active. I really wish I could complete everything in one day: getting most of my place organized, do some creative art, further my play in a video game and complete my workout reps...AND I realized that's not always possible since I have certain priorities on a daily basis. Perhaps, I need to manage my time better *shrugs*. At least, I'm not skipping most of my workouts.

My mom Facetimed me randomly over the week just to check on my well-being, seems like she's doing well for herself. I was able to see my grandma (due to dementia, she probably no longer remembers the adult version of me), my uncle (who is starting to look like my belated grandpa) and his wife through the video-call. I was hoping she would text me before hand and let me know she was hanging out with relatives because my hands were full as I was fixing breakfast under a dreadful kitchen lighting. I was in my PJs, with unkempt hair.  At least give me a bit of time to primp up a bit! lol   My relatives couldn't quite see me through the screen and were confused by seeing just my kitchen ceiling lights and parts of my arm through the phone. I know my dad texted me a couple of weeks ago that they're having a family reunion and tried inviting Bern and I to a BBQ party. Once again, as usual, I had to pass it up because:

1. fuel prices are insane, which means a road trip would be expensive. Hopefully this bullet train project gets done & becomes accessible for all .
2. I want to see my relatives, but I can't be in crowded environments when I'm trying to keep my physical health up.
3. Bern can't miss too much work.
I hope it doesn't stay like this forever.

Bern and I picked up some peaches & nectarines from a farmers market-- for pies! I think I'll make a regular pie as opposed to a cobbler, because it will sit better as leftovers for just the two of us to eat.

Gunsmith Cats youtube screencap gun smith cats
 
I also have been watching Gunsmith Cats (recorded from the SYFY channel), since I enjoy going through 80s/90s animations & old commercials.  Similar to a lot of Anglophonic media, there's a major antagonist of the series was portrayed in a super stereotypical, eye-rolling type of manner X___X.  I'm well aware that the characters and the setting of the series are basically mimicked after American action tv & movies, so I get where they were going with this. Despite that bit, it's pretty entertaining. I do like the character designs of the lead characters in the show and the way they captured the likeness of Chicago and the area surrounding it. I just need to finish one episode! I didn't know SYFY channel aired anime series, this was during a time when I was got into Aeon Flux or Liquid Television on Mtv.

6.25.2024
Listening to TANUKI- BABYBABY

 

Another warm day again (90 degrees Fahrenheit)! Bern and I waited around sunset to do our outdoor stroll. Going out after 6pm felt very niiiice because the temperature dropped ten degrees, with a little bit of a light breeze. I think anywhere around 75 degrees to 80 degrees Fahrenheit is my ideal range for summer. I'm a wuss when it comes to extreme heat-- I wouldn't be doing much of anything. It was a golden hour during our stroll-- there were a lot of walkers, friendly dogs and cyclists, especially on a weeknight!

grandma pizza
 
After that, Bern and I picked up our pizza from a local place-- which means it was movie night for us. We ordered a Grandma-style pizza. As usual, it was scrumptious! pizza eating person Because our group of friends raved over Godzilla Minus One, we ended up watching it. Godzilla Minus One is indeed a well-made movie, our friends were right! I'm so used to the cartoony/ campy mascot versions of the monster; this film was a good reminder that Godzilla from this universe is completely cruel. Objectively terrifying. I know this is typical of non-Hollywood media in general, but I appreciate when character-friends of a protagonist does not question their experiences of "unusual" sightings-- they tend to believe the protagonist, even if one of them was just skeptical for just a second..so, it's refreshing to see! It's been awhile since I watched a good blockbuster movie, the pacing reminds me of Jaws. I highly recommend if you're into monster films with some decent drama between the characters.

Also, here are some drawings I did from the past weeks:

Perona fanart from One Piece
 
Perona fanart from One Piece. She's just so fun to draw. I love drawing super girly princess-like characters.

 
Nintendo Direct Fanart

 
My semi-cursed reaction drawing of the Nintendo Direct announcement. I'm looking forward to Echoes of Wisdom and Dragon Quest(RIP Toriyama) reboot.



6.18.2024
Listening/watching to Vinny's reactions on Nintendo Direct

I had no idea that Nintendo Direct happened today! I opened up as Discord chat seeing people posting youtube links to the game trailers. Bern and I have this tradition of getting up early and watching them together. I guess we have been so preoccupied that Bern has forgotten to tell me about it. It's very likely that I may not even get to any of these games for quite awhile, but I am excited to see what kind of games developers came up with. There were a handful of games that I did not expect to get released. pikachu decome happy Here are my reactions:


Dragon Quest 3 Screenshot

Dragon Quest 3 remake HD-2D

Oooooh, a Dragon Quest 3 remake! I don't have any way of connecting super old games to an older tv at the moment, so this will be convenient way for me to enjoy this game in a remake form.


Dragon Quest complete screen cap

Ahhhhhhh! Looks like we'll be getting 1 & 2 as well! my melody happy



I think Bern might like this game, since he's a big Mario fan. He'll update me his reactions and talk more about it once he gets home.


Hello Kitty Island Adventure
 
I could see my ten year old self really loving this. I noticed there are some adventure plays & house decoration elements, like in Animal Crossing. I'm not sure how the game play is.... It might be okay! Otherwise, the graphics looks stinkin' cute. I probably might play this around my sister.

looney tunes sports nintendo switch

I was NOT expecting a sports game with Looney Tunes, just like how I didn't expect that I would be Bugs Bunny Castle on the gameboy. As soon as I saw Lola Bunny, I cackled.  This looks like this could be a fun game, especially revolving around basketball. I do like the physical mechanics for Nintendo Switch Sports- Basketball.


Romancing Saga

Just like with other Square Enix games (Dragon Quest Games, Visions of Mana, & Final Fantasy). I am putting Romancing Saga 2 on my list. The trailer screen caps reminds me of Dragon Quest 11 with the scenery, voice acting, & game play structure, so I hope to give this a try!


Echoes of Wisdom screenshots

Well, I now know that this is their dominant branding when it comes to Zelda title cards: massive landscape shot with a protagonist in a scenery. Zelda is now the protagonist in this game, she looks so Polly-Pocket..so I am looking forward to this


Echoes of Wisdom screen cap
 

 

Her main weapon in this game is a staff that makes "echoes" of furniture, common objects, elements, and enemies. I'm digging her little hoodie cloak.


Metroid Prime 4 screen cap

What?!?! And I was also not expecting this. The trailer for Metroid Prime 4 looks beautiful. For all those Metroid fans who've been waiting-- I am very happy for them.

6.07.2024
Listening to DJSlave1 (Goth/ Industrial/ Dark Techno stuff)

Bern and I did a little stroll through a farmers market. It was just a way to get us active in the morning and we happen to stumble on a day when it was the more-eventful type of farmers market-- there were some bootleg Beatles performers. Dogs & people of all ages vibing to an outdoor market with mild weather. Keep in mind, I don't get out very often, and it has been months since we were last at the farmers market. So, a little stroll of culture felt very vibrant to me.


Found a pretty nice outdoor seating place, I looked at their menus, and their foods looks normal & not ridiculously priced. Bern and I are suckers for outdoors-option food places. As usual, I like shopping for plants.

 
 
I spotted some collections of Fleischer cartoons. We did a bit of "window shopping" and I thought this Calico Critters display is super cute. 


Since this is the last month for our cherry season, we bought 1.15 lbs. Compared to last year, they've gotten a bit pricey! In the region that I'm in, I believe we're getting cherry shortages this year. I ended up making mini cherry pies. Probably will be the last time and the only time for cherry pies this year. They're delicious as fruits, just not the most convenient. crying gif




 
I'm happy to find use for these mini Dutch ovens that my parents gifted me for last Christmas. I wish they came in even numbers! Bern and I just split the third piece...I've managed to pry them out smoothly and cut them in half without breaking it apart (yay, to parchment paper & butter solidification from the refrigerator). I ended up using the remainder of the cherry pie filling for no-bake cheesecakes. 
 
Perona

I also been keeping myself busy by just assigning myself to fanart drawings. I drew Shirahoshi for Mermay month & Perona for her birthday. At the moment, I'm working on another Perona drawing...because I'm not loving this one was much.

 

I just finished this yesterday..basically I was in a stream chat when we're all brainstorming some drawing ideas. I decided to draw a Good Burger hunny... because why not?
 
 

6.01.2024
Listening to summery city pop

My partner Bern and I have been together for over thirteen years, we took a couple of days off to spend our anniversary together. To celebrate, we ended up going to the Huntington Library, Art Museum & Botanical Gardens -- it's not our first time, but it has been quite awhile since the last time we were there. They've added some new features, and this time, most of the roses stayed intact this season. I feel like it's one of those places that a local art history professor would assign as field trip that you would have to attend on your own. I'm quite happy to spend my leisure time at place that's mainly outdoors, since that's pretty much my limitation at the moment.

classical statue from Huntington sherbert colored roses
Garden Trail Path/ Rose Garden- Huntington

One of these days I'd like to reserve a space at the tea place with my sister/ my girlfriends and spend the whole day doing scavenger hunt with the flowers. There are so many things to see at this park, I know I'd like to come back for various reasons.

Japanese Garden at the Huntington Japanese Garden area at the Huntington
Japanese Garden- Huntington
Chinese garden at the Huntington Chinese Garden at the huntington
Chinese Garden- Huntington

In order to cover everything in the park, I believe you would have to arrive early. Bern and I skipped a few areas and strolled through the areas that appeared to be more "fun", maybe fun isn't the best word, perhaps 'visually interesting' would be the best words to describe these areas.

ootd perfume breeze

I ended up wearing this fast fashion dress that's been with me for several years-- it has a bit of the 60s inspiration, particularly with its bell sleeves. Normally, I'd pair them with a wide brimmed hat with suede boots...but since it was quite warm and I was feeling very girly, I ended up wearing them with my flats, satin hair bow & my DIY faux shoe laces. I think having some laces tied around my calves adds a bit of balance with my plain short dress. 

Pasadena friend chicken

After our park stroll, we found a new place that sells Khmer fried chicken wings. I had to avoid anything with chili, so we ordered the Peking & the Cambodian Dirt (lemongrass) flavors.... no stomach pains AND they were quite scrumptious!

mystic museum- burbank vintage shop- burbank

The next day, we went to the Ladies' & Gents' night in Burbank. It's basically a food truck event that happens once a month during the summer. As expected, Bern and I didn't get anything from the food trucks-- they were all too expensive. It was fine, because we did a little bit of people-watching and spotted so many cute dogs. We ended up picking up a pizza-to-go from a local pizza joint. Despite the insane inflation with most places, our total for a large pizza was fairly cheap. We ended our nights with our cheese slices whilst watching Dungeon Meshi.